Note  This article is intended for Minfos Pilot stores only. It contains either new or updated functionality that is not generally available at this time. Please look out for these new features in an upcoming Minfos software release.
Warning This process is not reversible. Once two Customers have been merged, they cannot be separated again.


Stores can merge two Customers together, which can be useful if you find a single person has two different Customer records. Choose one Customer to be the Master, which will provide the profile information to the final merged Customer (such as address details), and then use this process to absorb the transaction history from the other Customer.

The link between a Customer and a Centralised Customer Account is only preserved for the Master Customer. The table below shows the outcome where the Master Customer, Slave Customer, or both or neither are linked to a Centralised Customer Account.

Scenario

Outcome

Only the Master Customer is linked to a Centralised Customer Account

  • Customers are merged
  • Master Customer details are retained
  • Link to Master Customer account is retained

Only the Slave customer is linked to a Centralised Customer Account

  • Customers are merged
  • Master Customer details are retained
  • Merged Customer is not linked to an account 
  • Link to Slave Customer account is discarded

Both the Master and Slave Customers are linked to Centralised Customer Accounts

  • Customers are merged
  • Master Customer details are retained
  • Link to Master Customer account is retained
  • Link to Slave Customer account is discarded

Neither Customer is linked to a Centralised Customer Account

  • Customers are merged
  • Master Customer details are retained
  • Merged Customer is not linked to an account 


Note This process is for stores in a Multi-Store group that has enabled Centralised Customer Accounts. Head Offices cannot merge Customers. If you do not have Multi-Store and Centralised Customer Accounts enabled, see Merge Customers in Customers Module.


From Customer Maintenance:

  1. Click Find. In the Search dialog, type the Customer’s surname and press Okay.

    Graphical user interface, table

Description automatically generated

  2. Take note of the Customer Codes for both Customers to be merged.

    Table

Description automatically generated with medium confidence

  3. Select the Customer with the profile information that you wish to keep, which will be called the Master. Click Merge.

    Note The yellow A icon indicates that this Customer is linked to an account, so we will use this as the Master.

    Table

Description automatically generated

    The Customer Merge dialog is displayed.
  4. In the Slave field, enter the Customer Code for the other Customer, then press [Tab].

    Graphical user interface, text, application

Description automatically generated

  5. Review the selected Master and Slave Customer details to ensure that they are correct.
    In this example, the final merged Customer will be named Ben Adams, with the address 123 Example St, and linked to his Centralised Customer Account. It will also include the script history previously saved to Benjamin Adams at 1 Wrong St.

  6. Check the Merge checkbox, and click Okay.

    Text

Description automatically generated with low confidence

  7. To confirm that you want to merge the two Customers together, click Yes.

    Graphical user interface, application

Description automatically generated

  8. The Customers are merged.
    In this example, the Ben Adams Customer now includes the script history from both customers.